Journal

Tor.com Reviews THE CALCULATING STARS

If you’ve followed my writing career even slightly, it’s almost certain that you’re familiar with THE CALCULATING STARS. Last month, it was featured at Tor.com in an article by Sylvain Neuvel as part of post focused on alternative histories, WWII, and the space race.

Where to (Virtually) Find Mary Robinette in February

As you may have guessed, all of my events will continue to be online for the time being. I have two writing dates, an Ask An Expert interview with Katie Mack, and a class on how to structure a heist coming up this month for my Patreon Supporters. I hope to see you there!

Physics World Reviews “A Little Wisdom”

“My favourite story in the collection though is undoubtedly Mary Robinette Kowal’s “A Little Wisdom”, a lovely and sweet story that highlights the many ways in which AI could truly benefit humankind, while also realistically pointing out some potential issues. The slice-of-life story follows an elderly art historian and her robot support dog (she suffers …

Physics World Reviews “A Little Wisdom” Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Alexander Weinstein Talks About UNIVERSAL LOVE

Alexander Weinstein is joining us today to talk about his short story collection, Universal Love. Here’s the publisher’s description: A hypnotic collection of speculative fiction about compassion, love, and human resilience in the technological hyper-age, from Alexander Weinstein, author of Children of the New World. Universal Love welcomes readers to a near-future world where our everyday technologies have fundamentally …

My Favorite Bit: Alexander Weinstein Talks About UNIVERSAL LOVE Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Jeff Wheeler Talks About KNIGHT’S RANSOM

Jeff Wheeler is joining us today to talk about his novel, Knight’s Ransom. Here’s the publisher’s description: Uneasy lies the head that wears a crown. A brutal war of succession has plunged the court of Kingfountain into a power struggle between a charitable king who took the crown unlawfully and his ambitious rival, Devon Argentine. …

My Favorite Bit: Jeff Wheeler Talks About KNIGHT’S RANSOM Read More »

My Favorite Bit: H.M. Long Talks About HALL OF SMOKE

H.M. Long is joining us today to talk about her novel, Hall of Smoke. Here’s the publisher’s description: Epic fantasy featuring warrior priestesses and fickle gods at war, for readers of Brian Staveley’s Chronicles of the Unhewn Throne. Hessa is an Eangi: a warrior priestess of the Goddess of War, with the power to turn an …

My Favorite Bit: H.M. Long Talks About HALL OF SMOKE Read More »

My Favorite Bit: M. A. Carrick Talks About THE MASK OF MIRRORS

Marie Brennan and Alyc Helms, writing together as M.A. Carrick, are joining us today to talk about their novel, The Mask of Mirrors. Here’s the publisher’s description: The Mask of Mirrors is the unmissable start to the Rook & Rose trilogy, a darkly magical fantasy adventure in which a con artist returns to the city that …

My Favorite Bit: M. A. Carrick Talks About THE MASK OF MIRRORS Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Keith R.A. DeCandido Talks About ANIMAL

Keith R.A. DeCandido is joining us today to talk about his novel, Animal, co-authored with Munish K. Batra, MD, FACS. Here’s the publisher’s description: Two grisly murders are committed at a meatpacking plant by a person wearing a cow mask…not long after the CEO of a water park is brutally killed by someone wearing an …

My Favorite Bit: Keith R.A. DeCandido Talks About ANIMAL Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Stina Leicht Talks About PERSEPHONE STATION

Stina Leicht is joining us today to talk about her novel, Persephone Station. Here’s the publisher’s description: Persephone Station, a seemingly backwater planet that has largely been ignored by the United Republic of Worlds becomes the focus for the Serrao-Orlov Corporation as the planet has a few secrets the corporation tenaciously wants to exploit. Rosie—owner …

My Favorite Bit: Stina Leicht Talks About PERSEPHONE STATION Read More »

Where to (Virtually) Find Mary Robinette in January

As you may have guessed, all of my events will continue to be online for the time being. I have two writing dates, an Ask An Expert interview with Katie Mack, and a class on how to structure a heist coming up this month for my Patreon Supporters. I hope to see you there!

My Favorite Bit: Charles Choi Talks About BY THE WILL OF THE GODS

Charles Choi is joining us today to talk about his novelette, “By the Will of the Gods”. Here’s the author’s description: In “By the Will of the Gods,” an orphan adopted by a temple devoted to foretelling the future has to solve the mystery behind his mentor’s death. All this takes place in Nightingale, an …

My Favorite Bit: Charles Choi Talks About BY THE WILL OF THE GODS Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Natania Barron Talks About QUEEN OF NONE

Natania Barron is joining us today to talk about her novel, Queen of None. Here’s the publisher’s description: When Anna Pendragon was born, Merlin prophesied: “Through all the ages, and in the hearts of men, you will be forgotten.” Married at twelve, and a mother soon after, Anna – the famed King Arthur’s sister – …

My Favorite Bit: Natania Barron Talks About QUEEN OF NONE Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Sam Hawke Talks About HOLLOW EMPIRE

Sam Hawke is joining us today to talk about her novel, Hollow Empire. Here’s the publisher’s description: Moving from poison and treachery to war and witchcraft, Sam Hawke’s Poison Wars continue with Hollow Empire, a fabulous epic fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Robin Hobb, Naomi Novik, and Scott Lynch. Poison was only the beginning…. The …

My Favorite Bit: Sam Hawke Talks About HOLLOW EMPIRE Read More »

Scroll to Top