Journal

Tonight on Patreon: Interviewing Experts with Kat Eldred of Why Knot Fibers. Join Us!

Tonight at 8pm Eastern US I’ll be interviewing Kat Eldred, owner and founder of Why Knot Fibers. Join the $25 Interviewing Experts level, and come ask questions and hear all about it! Kat Eldred is the founder and dyer behind Why Knot Fibers, a small hand-dyed yarn company specializing in rich nature inspired tonal colors, …

Tonight on Patreon: Interviewing Experts with Kat Eldred of Why Knot Fibers. Join Us! Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Amanda Foody and Christine Lynn Herman Talk About ALL OF US VILLAINS

Amanda Foody and Christine Lynn Herman are joining us today to talk about their novel, All of Us Villains. Here’s the publisher’s description: The Blood Moon rises. The Blood Veil falls. The Tournament begins. Every generation, at the coming of the Blood Moon, seven families in the remote city of Ilvernath each name a champion …

My Favorite Bit: Amanda Foody and Christine Lynn Herman Talk About ALL OF US VILLAINS Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Charlie N. Holmberg Talks About STAR MOTHER

Charlie N. Holmberg is joining us today to talk about her novel, Star Mother. Here’s the publisher’s description: A woman’s heart proves as infinite as the night sky in a breathtaking fantasy by Wall Street Journal bestselling author Charlie N. Holmberg. When a star dies, a new one must be born. The Sun God chooses the village …

My Favorite Bit: Charlie N. Holmberg Talks About STAR MOTHER Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Ryan O’Nan Talks About WINDERS

Ryan O’Nan is joining us today to talk about his novel, Winders. Here’s the publisher’s description: In this stunning debut by actor and screenwriter Ryan O’Nan (Skins, Marvel’s Legion, Queen of the South), time itself can be wound back like a clock. The power of Winding can fix mistakes and prevent disasters. Or, in the wrong hands, …

My Favorite Bit: Ryan O’Nan Talks About WINDERS Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Catherynne M. Valente Talks About COMFORT ME WITH APPLES

Catherynne M. Valente is joining us today to talk about her novel, Comfort Me With Apples. Here’s the publisher’s description: Comfort Me With Apples is a terrifying new thriller from bestseller Catherynne M. Valente, for fans of Gone Girl and Spinning Silver Sophia was made for him. Her perfect husband. She can feel it in her bones. He is …

My Favorite Bit: Catherynne M. Valente Talks About COMFORT ME WITH APPLES Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Cassandra Khaw Talks About NOTHING BUT BLACKENED TEETH

Cassandra Khaw is joining us today to talk about their novella, Nothing But Blackened Teeth. Here’s the publisher’s description: Cassandra Khaw’s Nothing But Blackened Teeth is a gorgeously creepy haunted house tale, steeped in Japanese folklore and full of devastating twists. A Heian-era mansion stands abandoned, its foundations resting on the bones of a bride and its …

My Favorite Bit: Cassandra Khaw Talks About NOTHING BUT BLACKENED TEETH Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Elsa Sjunneson Talks About BEING SEEN

Elsa Sjunneson is joining us today to talk about her memoir, Being Seen. Here’s the publisher’s description: A deafblind writer and professor explores how the misrepresentation of disability in books, movies, and TV harms both the disabled community and everyone else. As a deafblind woman with partial vision in one eye and bilateral hearing aids, …

My Favorite Bit: Elsa Sjunneson Talks About BEING SEEN Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Drew Brockington Talks About WAFFLES AND PANCAKE: PLANETARY-YUM

Drew Brockington is joining us today to talk about his graphic novel, Waffles and Pancake: Planetary-YUM. Here’s the publisher’s description: Inspired by his beloved CatStronauts series, Drew Brockington is going back in time to when everyone’s favorite Catstronaut, Waffles, was a kitten! Fans of Narwhal and Jelly and Elephant & Piggie will love this fun, cat-tastic …

My Favorite Bit: Drew Brockington Talks About WAFFLES AND PANCAKE: PLANETARY-YUM Read More »

Tonight’s Patreon Class is When, Why, and How to Work with Author Assistants. Join Us!

Tonight’s class at 8pm Eastern is When, Why, and How to Work with Author Assistants with Christine Sandquist and Alyshondra Meacham. Join the $25 Class level, come ask questions and hear all about it! Christine Sandquist is an NYC-based sensitivity reader, editor, and author assistant to writers such as Hugo Award Winner Mary Robinette Kowal, Nebula Award …

Tonight’s Patreon Class is When, Why, and How to Work with Author Assistants. Join Us! Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Patti Callahan Talks About ONCE UPON A WARDROBE

Patti Callahan is joining us today to talk about her novel, Once Upon A Wardrobe. Here’s the publisher’s description: When college student Megs approaches author C. S. Lewis with her younger brother’s request to find out if Narnia is real, he instead takes her on a magical journey through the moments in his life that …

My Favorite Bit: Patti Callahan Talks About ONCE UPON A WARDROBE Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Gideon Marcus Talks About SIRENA

Gideon Marcus is joining us today to talk about his novel, Sirena. Here’s the publisher’s description: Young captain-for-hire Kitra Yilmaz has gotten her first contract: escort the mysterious Princess of Atlántida beyond the Frontier and find her a new world. It’s a risky job, fraught with the threat of pirates, dangerous squatters, and rising romantic …

My Favorite Bit: Gideon Marcus Talks About SIRENA Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Caitlin Starling Talks About THE DEATH OF JANE LAWRENCE

Caitlin Starling is joining us today to talk about her novel, The Death of Jane Lawrence. Here’s the publisher’s description: Practical, unassuming Jane Shoringfield has done the calculations, and decided that the most secure path forward is this: a husband, in a marriage of convenience, who will allow her to remain independent and occupied with …

My Favorite Bit: Caitlin Starling Talks About THE DEATH OF JANE LAWRENCE Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Stephanie Burgis Talks About SCALES AND SENSIBILITY

Stephanie Burgis is joining us today to talk about her novel, Scales and Sensibility. Here’s the publisher’s description: Sensible, practical Elinor Tregarth really did plan to be the model poor relation when she moved into Hathergill Hall. She certainly never meant to kidnap her awful cousin Penelope’s pet dragon. She never expected to fall in love with …

My Favorite Bit: Stephanie Burgis Talks About SCALES AND SENSIBILITY Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Maggie Tokuda-Hall Talks About SQUAD

Maggie Tokuda-Hall is joining us today to talk about her graphic novel, Squad. Here’s the publisher’s description: Pretty Little Liars meets Teen Wolf in this sharply funny, and patriarchy-smashing graphic novel from author Maggie Tokuda-Hall and artist Lisa Sterle. When the new girl is invited to join her high school’s most popular clique, she can’t believe her luck—and …

My Favorite Bit: Maggie Tokuda-Hall Talks About SQUAD Read More »

Join Us Tonight on Patreon for my Writing Class: Schmoozing 101!

Writing class tonight at 8PM Eastern! Learn how to get the most out of conventions with Schmoozing 101. We’ll chat about why one goes to conventions, some general concepts behind schmoozing, and then go into specific techniques. Learn about how conventions relate to your life as a writer, what types of goals you should have …

Join Us Tonight on Patreon for my Writing Class: Schmoozing 101! Read More »

Scroll to Top