Journal

My Favorite Bit: Keith R.A. DeCandido Talks About ANIMAL

Keith R.A. DeCandido is joining us today to talk about his novel, Animal, co-authored with Munish K. Batra, MD, FACS. Here’s the publisher’s description: Two grisly murders are committed at a meatpacking plant by a person wearing a cow mask…not long after the CEO of a water park is brutally killed by someone wearing an …

My Favorite Bit: Keith R.A. DeCandido Talks About ANIMAL Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Stina Leicht Talks About PERSEPHONE STATION

Stina Leicht is joining us today to talk about her novel, Persephone Station. Here’s the publisher’s description: Persephone Station, a seemingly backwater planet that has largely been ignored by the United Republic of Worlds becomes the focus for the Serrao-Orlov Corporation as the planet has a few secrets the corporation tenaciously wants to exploit. Rosie—owner …

My Favorite Bit: Stina Leicht Talks About PERSEPHONE STATION Read More »

Where to (Virtually) Find Mary Robinette in January

As you may have guessed, all of my events will continue to be online for the time being. I have two writing dates, an Ask An Expert interview with Katie Mack, and a class on how to structure a heist coming up this month for my Patreon Supporters. I hope to see you there!

My Favorite Bit: Charles Choi Talks About BY THE WILL OF THE GODS

Charles Choi is joining us today to talk about his novelette, “By the Will of the Gods”. Here’s the author’s description: In “By the Will of the Gods,” an orphan adopted by a temple devoted to foretelling the future has to solve the mystery behind his mentor’s death. All this takes place in Nightingale, an …

My Favorite Bit: Charles Choi Talks About BY THE WILL OF THE GODS Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Natania Barron Talks About QUEEN OF NONE

Natania Barron is joining us today to talk about her novel, Queen of None. Here’s the publisher’s description: When Anna Pendragon was born, Merlin prophesied: “Through all the ages, and in the hearts of men, you will be forgotten.” Married at twelve, and a mother soon after, Anna – the famed King Arthur’s sister – …

My Favorite Bit: Natania Barron Talks About QUEEN OF NONE Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Sam Hawke Talks About HOLLOW EMPIRE

Sam Hawke is joining us today to talk about her novel, Hollow Empire. Here’s the publisher’s description: Moving from poison and treachery to war and witchcraft, Sam Hawke’s Poison Wars continue with Hollow Empire, a fabulous epic fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Robin Hobb, Naomi Novik, and Scott Lynch. Poison was only the beginning…. The …

My Favorite Bit: Sam Hawke Talks About HOLLOW EMPIRE Read More »

Where to Find Mary Robinette in December

I have two writing dates and a class on identifying the barriers to writing coming up between now and the first week of January for my Patreon Supporters. I hope to see you there!

My Favorite Bit: Elle M. Holmes Talks About THE SILENT BLUEBIRD

Elle Holmes is joining us today to talk about her novel, The Silent Bluebird. Here’s the publisher’s description: The stories we read have the power to change our lives. Sadie Smith lives an ordinary life, unlike the extraordinary ones of the characters in the books where she finds an escape. Until one story changes it …

My Favorite Bit: Elle M. Holmes Talks About THE SILENT BLUEBIRD Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Elizabeth Bear Talks About MACHINE

Elizabeth Bear is joining us today to talk about her novel, Machine. Here’s the publisher’s description: In this compelling and addictive novel set in the same universe as the critically acclaimed White Space series and perfect for fans of Karen Traviss and Ada Hoffman, a space station begins to unravel when a routine search and …

My Favorite Bit: Elizabeth Bear Talks About MACHINE Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Ginger Smith Talks About THE RUSH’S EDGE

Ginger Smith is joining us today to talk about her novel, The Rush’s Edge. Here’s the publisher’s description: With the help of his commanding officer, a genetically engineered ex-soldier fights back against the government that created him and others like him to be expendable slaves… Halvor Cullen, a genetically-engineered and technology implanted ex-soldier, doesn’t see …

My Favorite Bit: Ginger Smith Talks About THE RUSH’S EDGE Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Meg Frank Talks About MERMAIDS MONTHLY

Meg Frank is joining us today to talk about their Kickstarter for Mermaids Monthly magazine, created with Julia Rios, Lis Hulin-Wheeler, and Ashley Deng. Here’s the description: Here’s the plan: 12 digital issues of mermaid magic in 2021 – short stories, flash stories, comics, poetry, art, and more. Good stuff to get you through it. Something you …

My Favorite Bit: Meg Frank Talks About MERMAIDS MONTHLY Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Kimberly Unger Talks About NUCLEATION

Kimberly Unger is joining us today to talk about her novel, Nucleation. Here’s the publisher’s description: In this riveting debut science-fiction technothriller, a top-notch VR pilot encounters a disaster during the highest profile space-faring project of her career. Now she must unearth a critical truth: was her discovery due to a betrayal, a business rival, …

My Favorite Bit: Kimberly Unger Talks About NUCLEATION Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Essa Hansen Talks About NOPHEK GLOSS

Essa Hansen is joining us today to talk about her novel, Nophek Gloss. Here’s the publisher’s description: When a young man’s planet is destroyed, he sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across the galaxy in Nophek Gloss, the first book in this epic space opera trilogy debut — perfect for fans of Revenger and Children of Time. …

My Favorite Bit: Essa Hansen Talks About NOPHEK GLOSS Read More »

My Favorite Bit: James Van Pelt Talks About THE BEST OF JAMES VAN PELT

James Van Pelt is joining us today to talk about his short story collection, The Best of James Van Pelt. Here’s the publisher’s description: Signed and numbered by the author. This hardcover with dust jacket will be limited to 200 copies. Nearly 300 thousand words of fiction, and 700 pages! ♦ From a giant spider that …

My Favorite Bit: James Van Pelt Talks About THE BEST OF JAMES VAN PELT Read More »

Scroll to Top