About Mary

Kowal1Hugo-award winning author, Mary Robinette Kowal is a novelist and professional puppeteer. Her debut novel Shades of Milk and Honey (Tor 2010) was nominated for the 2010 Nebula Award for Best Novel. In 2008 she won the Campbell Award for Best New Writer, while three of her short fiction works have been nominated for the Hugo Award: “Evil Robot Monkey” in 2009 and “For Want of a Nail” in 2011, which won the Hugo for short story that year. Her stories have appeared in Strange Horizons, Asimov’s, and several Year’s Best anthologies, as well as in her collection Scenting the Dark and Other Stories from Subterranean Press.

Kowal is also an award-winning puppeteer. With over twenty years of experience, she has performed for LazyTown (CBS), the Center for Puppetry Arts, Jim Henson Pictures and founded Other Hand Productions. Her designs have garnered two UNIMA-USA Citations of Excellence, the highest award an American puppeteer can achieve.

When she isn’t writing or puppeteering, Kowal brings her speech and theater background to her work as a voice actor. As the voice behind several audio books and short stories, she has recorded fiction for authors such as Kage Baker, Cory Doctorow and John Scalzi.

Mary lives in Chicago with her husband Rob and over a dozen manual typewriters. Sometimes she even writes on them.

Recent Journal Entries

For those of you reading along… Chapter 20 is up

For those reading along with Ghost Talkers, Chapter 20 is up.  For everyone else, here is a random photo of the last day of our Christmas decorations. We keep our Christmas cards in the typewriters. Thrilling. I know. Like this:Like Loading…

Read More

I’m teaching a free writing workshop in Ferguson, MO on Jan 24.

Everyone has a story they want to tell, whether that’s from fiction or from part of your life. As I’ve been watching the news roll out from Ferguson and then in waves across the nation, I’ve been struck by how much grass-roots reporting has differed from the mainstream media narrative. While facts and data are important, […]

Read More

My Favorite Bit: Kristi Charish talks about OWL AND THE JAPANESE CIRCUS

Kristi Charish is joining us today with her novel Owl and the Japanese Circus. Here’s the publisher’s description. Fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, and Linda Hamilton will flock to the kick-ass world of Owl, a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief, Alix—better known now […]

Read More

More Journal Entries

%d bloggers like this: