Journal

Join Me, DongWon Song, and Dan Wells for a Masterclass and Writing Retreat in the Caribbean!

The Writing Excuses team has once again come together to bring you our annual cruise ship-based writing retreat. We’ll be hosting you all September 19th – 27th with classes, workshops, and time for your own writing… all wrapped up in a magical Caribbean vacation! The masterclass will be a smaller event than our typical cruises, …

Join Me, DongWon Song, and Dan Wells for a Masterclass and Writing Retreat in the Caribbean! Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Benjamin Rosenbaum Talks About THE UNRAVELING

Benjamin Rosenbaum is joining us today to talk about his novel, The Unraveling. Here’s the publisher’s description: In the distant future, somewhere in the galaxy, a world has evolved where each person has multiple bodies, cybernetics has abolished privacy, and individual and family success are reliant upon instantaneous evaluations of how well each member conforms …

My Favorite Bit: Benjamin Rosenbaum Talks About THE UNRAVELING Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Joanne M. Harris Talks About HONEYCOMB

Joanne M. Harris is joining us today to talk about her novel, Honeycomb. Here’s the publisher’s description: A lushly illustrated set of dark, captivating fairy tales from the bestselling author of The Gospel of Loki with illustrator Charles Vess (Stardust). The beauty of stories; you never know where they will take you. Full of dreams and nightmares, Honeycomb is …

My Favorite Bit: Joanne M. Harris Talks About HONEYCOMB Read More »

My Favorite Bit: A.C. Wise Talks About WENDY, DARLING

A. C. Wise is joining us today to talk about her novel, Wendy, Darling. Here’s the publisher’s description: A lush, feminist re-imagining on what happened to Wendy after Neverland, for fans of Circe and The Mere Wife. Find the second star from the right, and fly straight on ’til morning, all the way to Neverland, a children’s paradise with …

My Favorite Bit: A.C. Wise Talks About WENDY, DARLING Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Nicole Jarvis Talks About THE LIGHTS OF PRAGUE

Nicole Jarvis is joining us today to talk about her novel, The Lights of Prague. Here’s the publisher’s description: For readers of VE Schwab and The Witcher, science and magic clash in atmospheric gaslight-era Prague. In the quiet streets of Prague all manner of mysterious creatures lurk in the shadows. Unbeknownst to its citizens, their only …

My Favorite Bit: Nicole Jarvis Talks About THE LIGHTS OF PRAGUE Read More »

My Favorite Bit: David Ebenbach Talks About HOW TO MARS

David Ebenbach is joining us today to talk about his novel, How To Mars. Here’s the publisher’s description: What happens when your dream mission to Mars is a reality television nightmare? This debut science-fiction romp with heart that follows the tradition of Ray Bradbury’s Martian Chronicles, with a hints of the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, …

My Favorite Bit: David Ebenbach Talks About HOW TO MARS Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Shirtaloon Talks About HE WHO FIGHTS WITH MONSTERS 2

Shirtaloon is joining us today to talk about He Who Fights With Monsters 2, Book 2 of his serialized story. Here’s the publisher’s description: The path from retail middle management to interdimensional wizard adventurer wasn’t easy. But Jason Asano is settling into his new life. Now, a contest draws young elites to the city of …

My Favorite Bit: Shirtaloon Talks About HE WHO FIGHTS WITH MONSTERS 2 Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Andrew Rowe Talks About THE TORCH THAT IGNITES THE STARS

Andrew Rowe is joining us today to talk about his novel, The Torch That Ignites The Stars. Here’s the publisher’s description: After concluding their first year at Lorian Heights, Corin and his friends catch a train from their native Valia to the distant country of Caelford. For most, this would be a simple vacation. Corin …

My Favorite Bit: Andrew Rowe Talks About THE TORCH THAT IGNITES THE STARS Read More »

The Barnes & Noble SF Blog Reviews THE CALCULATING STARS

It’s a fiercely compassionate, clear-eyes, and clever novel, exploring mental health through the lens of one of the most buttoned up periods of western history, the consequences of grief and loss on people of faith, and its even greater fallout on those faithful who work in the sciences. It picks at the mindset that kept …

The Barnes & Noble SF Blog Reviews THE CALCULATING STARS Read More »

My Favorite Bit: PJ Manney Talks About (CON)SCIENCE

PJ Manney is joining us today to talk about her novel, (CON)science. Here’s the publisher’s description: PJ Manney concludes her visionary Philip K. Dick Award–nominated series of a world at war, a virtual search for identity, and the future of humanity. Five years ago, bioengineer Peter Bernhardt spearheaded an innovation in nanotechnology that changed the …

My Favorite Bit: PJ Manney Talks About (CON)SCIENCE Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Jeff Noon Talks About WITHIN WITHOUT

Jeff Noon is joining us today to talk about his novel, Within Without: A Nyquist Mystery. Here’s the publisher’s description: From true weird fiction visionary Jeff Noon comes the fourth book in this Philip K. Dick Award-nominated mystery series. In the year 1960, private eye John Nyquist arrives in Delirium, a city of a million …

My Favorite Bit: Jeff Noon Talks About WITHIN WITHOUT Read More »

Molly on the Moon, Written by Mary Robinette Kowal and Illustrated by Diana Mayo – Cover Reveal!

A big sister finds that even in a place as lonely as the moon, all you need is a little creativity—and someone to play with—in Molly on the Moon, the debut picture book from award winning sci fi author Mary Robinette Kowal. I am delighted to share the cover of my upcoming children’s book, Molly on …

Molly on the Moon, Written by Mary Robinette Kowal and Illustrated by Diana Mayo – Cover Reveal! Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Nicole Kornher-Stace Talks About FIREBREAK

Nicole Kornher-Stace is joining us today to talk about her novel, Firebreak. Here’s the publisher’s description: One young woman faces down an all-powerful corporation in this all-too-near future science fiction debut that reads like a refreshing take on Ready Player One, with a heavy dose of Black Mirror. Ready Player One meets Cyberpunk 2077 in this eerily familiar future. “Twenty minutes …

My Favorite Bit: Nicole Kornher-Stace Talks About FIREBREAK Read More »

Scroll to Top