My Favorite Bit

My Favorite Bit: Isabel Schechter and Michi Trota talks about The WisCon Chronicles Vol 12: BOUNDARIES AND BRIDGES

Isabel Schechter and Michi Trota are joining us today to talk about this year’s collection of essays by WisCon attendees, The WisCon Chronicles Vol. 12: Boundaries and Bridges. Here’s the publisher’s description: The twelfth volume of The WisCon Chronicles explores our understanding of boundaries and bridges, and what they mean for us as individuals and …

My Favorite Bit: Isabel Schechter and Michi Trota talks about The WisCon Chronicles Vol 12: BOUNDARIES AND BRIDGES Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Swati Teerdhala talks about The Archer at Dawn

Swati Teerdhala is joining us today with The Archer at Dawn. Here’s the publisher’s description: Romantic intrigue and electric action fill the gripping sequel to The Tiger at Midnight, a world inspired by ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology. Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Victoria Aveyard. A stolen throne. A lost princess. A rescue …

My Favorite Bit: Swati Teerdhala talks about The Archer at Dawn Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Nancy Kress talks about Sea Change

Nancy Kress is joining us today with Sea Change. Here’s the publisher’s description: New from the Nebula Award winning author of Beggars in Spain: A riveting climate-change technothriller of espionage, conspiracy, and stakes so high they could lead to the destruction of humanity itself. In this environmental page-turner, activist lawyer Renata Black―covert member of the Org―must go …

My Favorite Bit: Nancy Kress talks about Sea Change Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Laura Lam talks about Goldilocks

Laura Lam is joining us today with Goldilocks. Here’s the publisher’s description: A gripping science fiction thriller where five women task themselves with ensuring the survival of the human race; perfect for readers of The Martian, The Power, and Station Eleven. Despite increasing restrictions on the freedoms of women on Earth, Valerie Black is spearheading the first all-female …

My Favorite Bit: Laura Lam talks about Goldilocks Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Dan Moren talks about THE ALEPH EXTRACTION

Dan Moren is joining us today to talk about his novel The Aleph Extraction. Here’s the publisher’s description: Aboard a notorious criminal syndicate’s luxurious starliner, Commonwealth operative Simon Kovalic and his crew race to steal a mysterious artifact that could shift the balance of war… Still reeling from a former teammate’s betrayal, Commonwealth operative Simon Kovalic …

My Favorite Bit: Dan Moren talks about THE ALEPH EXTRACTION Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Ilze Hugo talks about THE DOWN DAYS

Ilze Hugo is joining us to talk about her novel The Down Days. Here’s the publisher’s description: In the aftermath of a deadly outbreak—reminiscent of the 1962 event of mass hysteria that was the Tanganyika Laughter Epidemic—a city at the tip of Africa is losing its mind, with residents experiencing hallucinations and paranoia. Is it simply …

My Favorite Bit: Ilze Hugo talks about THE DOWN DAYS Read More »

My Favorite Bit: C.J. Lavigne talks about In Veritas

C.J. Lavigne is joining us today with In Veritas. Here’s the publisher’s description: In this fantastic and fantastical debut, C.J. Lavigne concocts a wondrous realm overlaying a city that brims with civic workers and pigeons. Led by her synesthesia, Verity Richards discovers a hidden world inside an old Ottawa theatre. Within the timeworn walls live …

My Favorite Bit: C.J. Lavigne talks about In Veritas Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Octavia Cade talks about The Stone Weta

Octavia Cade is joining us to talk about her novel The Stone Wētā. Here’s the publisher’s description: We talk about the tyranny of distance a lot in this country. That distance will not save us. With governments denying climate science, scientists from affected countries and organisations are forced to traffic data to ensure the preservation …

My Favorite Bit: Octavia Cade talks about The Stone Weta Read More »

My Favorite Bit: AJ Fitzwater talks about THE VOYAGES OF CINRAK THE DAPPER

AJ Fitzwater is joining us to talk about their novel The Voyages of Cinrack the Dapper. Here’s the publisher’s description: Dapper. Lesbian. Capybara. Pirate. Cinrak the Dapper is a keeper of secrets, a righter of wrongs, the saltiest capybara on the sea and a rider of both falling stars and a great glass whale. Join …

My Favorite Bit: AJ Fitzwater talks about THE VOYAGES OF CINRAK THE DAPPER Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Rysa Walker talks about NOW, THEN, AND EVERYWHEN

Rysa Walker is joining us today to talk about her novel Now, Then, and Everywhen. Here’s the publisher’s description: When two time-traveling historians cross paths during one of the most tumultuous decades of the twentieth century, history goes helter-skelter. But which one broke the timeline? In 2136 Madison Grace uncovers a key to the origins of …

My Favorite Bit: Rysa Walker talks about NOW, THEN, AND EVERYWHEN Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Ilana C. Myer talks about THE POET KING

Ilana C. Myer is joining us today with her novel The Poet King, the final book in The Harp and the Ring Sequence. Here’s the publisher’s description: After a surprising upheaval, the nation of Tamryllin has a new ruler: Elissan Diar, who proclaims himself the first Poet King. Not all in court is happy with this …

My Favorite Bit: Ilana C. Myer talks about THE POET KING Read More »

My Favorite Bit: TJ Klune talks about THE HOUSE IN THE CERULEAN SEA

TJ Klune is joining us today with his novel The House in the Cerulean Sea. Here’s the publisher’s description: Linus Baker is a by-the-book case worker in the Department in Charge of Magical Youth. He’s tasked with determining whether six dangerous magical children are likely to bring about the end of the world. Arthur Parnassus is …

My Favorite Bit: TJ Klune talks about THE HOUSE IN THE CERULEAN SEA Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Ed Ruggero talks about BLAME THE DEAD

Ed Ruggero is joining us today with his novel Blame the Dead. Here’s the publisher’s description: Set against the heroism and heartbreak of World War II, former Army officer Ed Ruggero brilliantly captures, with grace and authenticity, the evocative and timeless stories of ordinary people swept up in extraordinary times. Sicily, 1943. Eddie Harkins, former …

My Favorite Bit: Ed Ruggero talks about BLAME THE DEAD Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Jeff Wheeler talks about THE KILLING FOG

Jeff Wheeler is joining us today to talk about his novel The Killing Fog. Here’s the publisher’s description: Survivor of a combat school, the orphaned Bingmei belongs to a band of mercenaries employed by a local ruler. Now the nobleman, and collector of rare artifacts, has entrusted Bingmei and the skilled team with a treacherous …

My Favorite Bit: Jeff Wheeler talks about THE KILLING FOG Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Anne Charnock talks about BRIDGE 108

Anne Charnock is joining us today with her novel Bridge 108. Here’s the publisher’s description: Late in the twenty-first century, drought and wildfires prompt an exodus from southern Europe. When twelve-year-old Caleb is separated from his mother during their trek north, he soon falls prey to traffickers. Enslaved in an enclave outside Manchester, the resourceful and …

My Favorite Bit: Anne Charnock talks about BRIDGE 108 Read More »

Scroll to Top