My Favorite Bit

My Favorite Bit: Katherine Addison talks about THE ANGEL OF THE CROWS

Katherine Addison is joining us to talk about her novel The Angel of the Crows. Here’s the publisher’s description: Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor, returns with The Angel of the Crows, a fantasy novel of alternate 1880s London, where killers stalk the night and the ultimate power is naming. This is not the story you think …

My Favorite Bit: Katherine Addison talks about THE ANGEL OF THE CROWS Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Aliette de Bodard talks about OF DRAGONS, FEASTS AND MURDER

Aliette de Bodard is joining us today to talk about her novel Of Dragons, Feasts and Murder. Here’s the publisher’s description: Lunar New Year should be a time for familial reunions, ancestor worship, and consumption of an unhealthy amount of candied fruit. But when dragon prince Thuan brings home his brooding and ruthless husband Asmodeus for …

My Favorite Bit: Aliette de Bodard talks about OF DRAGONS, FEASTS AND MURDER Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Brandon McNulty talks about BAD PARTS

Brandon McNulty is joining us to talk about his debut novel Bad Parts. Here’s the publisher’s description: A TOWN DIVIDED. A DEMON MADE WHOLE. When rock guitarist Ash Hudson suffers a career-ending hand injury, she seeks out the only thing that can heal it—her hometown’s darkest secret. For decades the residents of Hollow Hills, Pennsylvania, have …

My Favorite Bit: Brandon McNulty talks about BAD PARTS Read More »

My Favorite Bit: William C. Tracy talks about FACETS OF THE NETHER

William C. Tracy is joining us with his novel Facets of the Nether. Here’s the publisher’s description: The Dissolution approaches. Sam has saved the Assembly of Species, but at a terrible cost. Locked in his apartment, his memories gone and his best friend abducted, he is once again crippled with anxiety. Meanwhile, Enos struggles to free …

My Favorite Bit: William C. Tracy talks about FACETS OF THE NETHER Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Nick Martell talks about The Kingdom of Liars

Nick Martell is joining us today with The Kingdom of Liars. Here’s the publisher’s description: In this brilliant debut fantasy, a story of secrets, rebellion, and murder are shattering the Hollows, where magic costs memory to use, and only the son of the kingdom’s despised traitor holds the truth. Michael is branded a traitor as …

My Favorite Bit: Nick Martell talks about The Kingdom of Liars Read More »

My Favorite Bit: E. Catherine Tobler talks about THE GRAND TOUR

E. Catherine Tobler is joining us to talk about her book The Grand Tour. Here’s the publisher’s description: Step right up! Come one, come all, to Jackson’s Unreal Circus and Mobile Marmalade. The steam train may look older than your great-grandmother’s’ china, but within her metal corridors are destinations you have only ever dreamed. They’re …

My Favorite Bit: E. Catherine Tobler talks about THE GRAND TOUR Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Doug Engstrom talks about CORPORATE GUNSLINGER

Doug Engstrom is joining us today to talk about his novel Corporate Gunslinger. Here’s the publisher’s description: Doug Engstrom imagines a future all too terrifying—and all too possible—in this eerie, dystopic speculative fiction debut about corporate greed, debt slavery, and gun violence that is as intense and dark as Stephen King’s The Long Walk. Like many Americans …

My Favorite Bit: Doug Engstrom talks about CORPORATE GUNSLINGER Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Jeremy Szal talks about Stormblood

Jeremy Szal is joining us today with Stormblood. Here’s the publisher’s description: Vakov Fukasawa used to be a Reaper: a bio-enhanced soldier fighting for the Harmony, against a brutal invading empire. He’s still fighting now, on a different battlefield: taking on stormtech. To make him a perfect soldier, Harmony injected him with the DNA of …

My Favorite Bit: Jeremy Szal talks about Stormblood Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Isabel Schechter and Michi Trota talks about The WisCon Chronicles Vol 12: BOUNDARIES AND BRIDGES

Isabel Schechter and Michi Trota are joining us today to talk about this year’s collection of essays by WisCon attendees, The WisCon Chronicles Vol. 12: Boundaries and Bridges. Here’s the publisher’s description: The twelfth volume of The WisCon Chronicles explores our understanding of boundaries and bridges, and what they mean for us as individuals and …

My Favorite Bit: Isabel Schechter and Michi Trota talks about The WisCon Chronicles Vol 12: BOUNDARIES AND BRIDGES Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Swati Teerdhala talks about The Archer at Dawn

Swati Teerdhala is joining us today with The Archer at Dawn. Here’s the publisher’s description: Romantic intrigue and electric action fill the gripping sequel to The Tiger at Midnight, a world inspired by ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology. Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Victoria Aveyard. A stolen throne. A lost princess. A rescue …

My Favorite Bit: Swati Teerdhala talks about The Archer at Dawn Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Nancy Kress talks about Sea Change

Nancy Kress is joining us today with Sea Change. Here’s the publisher’s description: New from the Nebula Award winning author of Beggars in Spain: A riveting climate-change technothriller of espionage, conspiracy, and stakes so high they could lead to the destruction of humanity itself. In this environmental page-turner, activist lawyer Renata Black―covert member of the Org―must go …

My Favorite Bit: Nancy Kress talks about Sea Change Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Laura Lam talks about Goldilocks

Laura Lam is joining us today with Goldilocks. Here’s the publisher’s description: A gripping science fiction thriller where five women task themselves with ensuring the survival of the human race; perfect for readers of The Martian, The Power, and Station Eleven. Despite increasing restrictions on the freedoms of women on Earth, Valerie Black is spearheading the first all-female …

My Favorite Bit: Laura Lam talks about Goldilocks Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Dan Moren talks about THE ALEPH EXTRACTION

Dan Moren is joining us today to talk about his novel The Aleph Extraction. Here’s the publisher’s description: Aboard a notorious criminal syndicate’s luxurious starliner, Commonwealth operative Simon Kovalic and his crew race to steal a mysterious artifact that could shift the balance of war… Still reeling from a former teammate’s betrayal, Commonwealth operative Simon Kovalic …

My Favorite Bit: Dan Moren talks about THE ALEPH EXTRACTION Read More »

My Favorite Bit: Ilze Hugo talks about THE DOWN DAYS

Ilze Hugo is joining us to talk about her novel The Down Days. Here’s the publisher’s description: In the aftermath of a deadly outbreak—reminiscent of the 1962 event of mass hysteria that was the Tanganyika Laughter Epidemic—a city at the tip of Africa is losing its mind, with residents experiencing hallucinations and paranoia. Is it simply …

My Favorite Bit: Ilze Hugo talks about THE DOWN DAYS Read More »

Scroll to Top