2009 Nebula Award® Ballot

SFWA is proud to announce the nominees for the 2009 Nebula Awards. The awards will be presented at the 2009 Nebula Awards® Weekend, April 24-26,2009 in Los Angeles, California. For more information on the awards and the Nebulas Weekend, please visit the Nebula Awards website.


Little Brother – Cory Doctorow (Tor, Apr08)

Powers – Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt, Sep07)

Cauldron – Jack McDevitt (Ace, Nov07)

Brasyl – Ian McDonald (Pyr, May07)

Making Money – Sir Terry Pratchett (Harper, Sep07)

Superpowers – David J. Schwartz (Three Rivers Press, Jun08)


“The Spacetime Pool” – Catherine Asaro (Analog, Mar08)

“Dark Heaven” – Gregory Benford (Alien Crimes, ed. Mike Resnick, SFBC, Jan07)

“Dangerous Space” – Kelley Eskridge (Dangerous Space, Aqueduct Press, Jun07)

“The Political Prisoner” – Charles Coleman Finlay (F&SF, Aug08)

“The Duke in His Castle” – Vera Nazarian (Norilana Books, Jun08)


“If Angels Fight” – Richard Bowes (F&SF, Feb08)

“Dark Rooms” – Lisa Goldstein (Asimov’s, Oct/Nov 07)

“Pride and Prometheus” – John Kessel (F&SF, Jan08)

“Night Wind” – Mary Rosenblum (Lace and Blade, ed. Deborah J. Ross, Norilana Books, Feb08)

“Baby Doll” – Johanna Sinisalo (The SFWA European Hall of Fame, ed. James Morrow & Kathryn Morrow, Tor, Jun07 )

“Kaleidoscope” – K.D. Wentworth (F&SF, May07)

Short Stories

“The Button Bin” – Mike Allen (Helix: A Speculative Fiction Quarterly, Oct07)

“The Dreaming Wind” – Jeffrey Ford (The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales, ed. Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling, Viking, Jul07)

“Trophy Wives” – Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Fellowship Fantastic, ed. Greenberg and Hughes, DAW Books, Jan08)

“26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss”- Kij Johnson (Asimov’s, Jul08)

“The Tomb Wife”- Gwyneth Jones (F&SF, Aug07)

“Don’t Stop” – James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s, Jun07)


The Dark Knight – Jonathan Nolan, Christopher Nolan, David S.Goyer  (Warner Bros., Jul08)

“WALL-E” Screenplay – Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter (Walt Disney June 2008)

The Shrine – Brad Wright (Stargate Atlantis, Aug08)


Graceling – Kristin Cashore (Harcourt, Oct08)

Lamplighter – D.M. Cornish (Monster Blood Tattoo, Book 2, Putnam Juvenile,May08)

Savvy – Ingrid Law (Dial, May08)

The Adoration of Jenna Fox – Mary E. Pearson (Henry Holt and Company, Apr08)

Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) –  Ysabeau S. Wilce (Harcourt, Sep08)

via 2009 Nebula Award® Ballot | The Nebula Awards.

Did you know you can support Mary Robinette on Patreon!

1 thought on “2009 Nebula Award® Ballot”

  1. Wow…I just finished reading Graceling and Lamplighter this week! Both really excellent books and very worthy of recognition (although I’ll admit a leaning toward Lamplighter, if I had to choose.)

Comments are closed.

Scroll to Top