About Mary

 

Mary Robinette Kowal is the author of the Lady Astronaut duology and historical fantasy novels: The Glamourist Histories series and Ghost Talkers. She’s a member of the award-winning podcast Writing Excuses and has received the Astounding Award for Best New Writer, four Hugo awards, the RT Reviews award for Best Fantasy Novel, the Nebula, and Locus awards. Stories have appeared in Strange Horizons, Asimov’s, several Year’s Best anthologies and her collections Word Puppets and Scenting the Dark and Other Stories.

Her novel Calculating Stars is one of only eighteen novels to win the Hugo, Nebula and Locus awards in a single year.

As a professional puppeteer and voice actor (SAG/AFTRA), Mary Robinette has performed for LazyTown (CBS), the Center for Puppetry Arts, Jim Henson Pictures, and founded Other Hand Productions. Her designs have garnered two UNIMA-USA Citations of Excellence, the highest award an American puppeteer can achieve. She records fiction for authors such as Seanan McGuire, Cory Doctorow and John Scalzi.

Mary Robinette lives in Nashville with her husband Rob and over a dozen manual typewriters.

Recent Journal Entries

My Favorite Bit: Jeremy Szal talks about Stormblood

Jeremy Szal is joining us today with Stormblood. Here’s the publisher’s description: Vakov Fukasawa used to be a Reaper: a bio-enhanced soldier fighting for the Harmony, against a brutal invading empire. He’s still fighting now, on a different battlefield: taking on stormtech. To make him a perfect soldier, Harmony injected him with the DNA of […]

Read More

My Favorite Bit: Isabel Schechter and Michi Trota talks about The WisCon Chronicles Vol 12: BOUNDARIES AND BRIDGES

Isabel Schechter and Michi Trota are joining us today to talk about this year’s collection of essays by WisCon attendees, The WisCon Chronicles Vol. 12: Boundaries and Bridges. Here’s the publisher’s description: The twelfth volume of The WisCon Chronicles explores our understanding of boundaries and bridges, and what they mean for us as individuals and […]

Read More

My Favorite Bit: Swati Teerdhala talks about The Archer at Dawn

Swati Teerdhala is joining us today with The Archer at Dawn. Here’s the publisher’s description: Romantic intrigue and electric action fill the gripping sequel to The Tiger at Midnight, a world inspired by ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology. Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Victoria Aveyard. A stolen throne. A lost princess. A rescue […]

Read More

My Favorite Bit: Nancy Kress talks about Sea Change

Nancy Kress is joining us today with Sea Change. Here’s the publisher’s description: New from the Nebula Award winning author of Beggars in Spain: A riveting climate-change technothriller of espionage, conspiracy, and stakes so high they could lead to the destruction of humanity itself. In this environmental page-turner, activist lawyer Renata Black―covert member of the Org―must go […]

Read More

Where to Find Mary Robinette at the SFWA 2020 Virtual Conference

As SFWA president, Mary Robinette will be all around the Nebulas conference and ceremony. You can register here. Here are a few specific places you can catch her! Sat May 23, 2020 Nebula Finalist Reception and Reading 3pm – 8pm Pacific Here’s your chance to meet and congratulate this year’s Nebula Award finalists. As a […]

Read More

More Journal Entries