About Mary

Mary Robinette Kowal Bio

 

Hugo-award winning author, Mary Robinette Kowal is a novelist and professional puppeteer. Her debut novel Shades of Milk and Honey (Tor 2010) was nominated for the 2010 Nebula Award for Best Novel. In 2008 she won the Campbell Award for Best New Writer, while three of her short fiction works have been nominated for the Hugo Award: “Evil Robot Monkey” in 2009 and “For Want of a Nail” in 2011, which won the Hugo for short story that year. Her stories have appeared in Strange Horizons, Asimov’s, and several Year’s Best anthologies, as well as in her collection Scenting the Dark and Other Stories from Subterranean Press.

Kowal is also an award-winning puppeteer. With over twenty years of experience, she has performed for LazyTown (CBS), the Center for Puppetry Arts, Jim Henson Pictures and founded Other Hand Productions. Her designs have garnered two UNIMA-USA Citations of Excellence, the highest award an American puppeteer can achieve.

When she isn’t writing or puppeteering, Kowal brings her speech and theater background to her work as a voice actor. As the voice behind several audio books and short stories, she has recorded fiction for authors such as Kage Baker, Cory Doctorow and John Scalzi.

Mary lives in Chicago with her husband Rob and over a dozen manual typewriters. Sometimes she even writes on them.

Recent Journal Entries

My Favorite Bit: Charles Soule talks about THE ORACLE YEAR

Charles Soule is joining us today to talk about his novel The Oracle Year. Here’s the publisher’s description: From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future — perfect for fans of Joe Hill […]

Read More

My Favorite Bit: Kate Heartfield talks about ARMED IN HER FASHION

Kate Heartfield is joining us today to talk about her novel Armed in Her Fashion. Here is the publisher’s description: In 1328, Bruges is under siege by the Chatelaine of Hell and her army of chimeras—humans mixed with animals or armour, forged in the deep fires of the Hellbeast. At night, revenants crawl over the walls […]

Read More

My Favorite Bit: Sheryl R. Hayes talks about CHAOS WOLF

Sheryl R. Hayes is joining us today to talk about her novel Chaos Wolf. Here is a publisher’s description: Bitten by a werewolf. Taught by a vampire. At this rate, she’s going to start a war. Literature major Jordan Abbey ordered a double mocha latte, but it wasn’t supposed to come with a side order bite […]

Read More

For my assistant’s birthday, have a Lady Astronaut short story

Technically, this is just for Alyshondra, who is all things wonderful, BUT she wants to share her birthday present, so that means you get a story, too. Make sure to wish her a happy birthday in the comments. (Oh, and tell her about a novel that really struck you when you were a kid.)   The […]

Read More

Where to find Mary at the Nebula Awards

Mary will be at the SFWA Nebula Conference in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania from Thursday, May 17th to Sunday, May 20th. Here’s where to find her at the conference!   Thursday, May 17th Ignite Talks (moderator) 3:30-4:30pm Marquis B Get snapshot talks on a variety of subjects, geared toward jumpstarting your brain. Presenters get 20 slides, which […]

Read More

More Journal Entries